Supreme Court Rejects Trump Administration on Asylum Rules

The U.S. Supreme Court in a 5-4 vote Dec. 21 rejected the Trump administration’s request that the court let it implement a rule that those who enter the United States without documents will not be eligible for asylum.

A presidential order signed Nov. 9 by President Donald Trump said those seeking asylum in the U.S. would have to present themselves formally at official ports of entry to be considered eligible for asylum.

On Nov. 19, U.S. District Court Judge Jon Tigar put a temporary injunction on the rule, so the U.S. Department of Justice went immediately to the high court seeking to get the asylum restrictions reinstated.

Voting to allow the asylum rule to be revived were Justices Clarence Thomas, Samuel Alito, Neil Gorsuch and Brett Kavanaugh. Chief Justice John Roberts joined the four remaining justices in voting to keep the hold in place as the issuemakes its way through the lower courts.

Some days after Trump signed the order in November, several Catholic leaders said his action was directly contradicting existing U.S. law on the matter.

Continue reading…