Supreme Court Will Not Block Texas Pro-Life Law

By a 5-4 vote, the United States Supreme Court rejected an emergency request to block Texas’ new pro-life law. The decision permits the Texas law, which outlaws abortions after six weeks, to stay in place.

Justices Clarence Thomas, Samuel Alito, Neil Gorsuch, Brett Kavanaugh, and Amy Coney Barrett voted in the majority.

Chief Justice John Roberts and Justices Stephen Breyer, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan dissented.

Roberts would have blocked the law at least temporarily, citing procedural reasons in his vote to prevent the Texas law from going into effect.

Pro-abortion groups have pursued a number of legal avenues in order to block the law ahead of its taking effect Sept. 1.

Continue Reading…